Gluten free Cheerios coming soon
General Mills, the manufacturers of Cheerios, have announced that this July five of their Cheerios cereal products will go gluten free: Original Cheerios, Honey Nut, Multi-Grain, Apple Cinnamon, and Frosted.
Using a proprietary process they will be able to ensure that no wheat, rye, or barley is present in the oats used. This ensures that they will meet the FDA's guidelines for products labelled gluten free.
The Multi-Grain Cheerios will have their wheat and barley replaced with sorghum and millet, so the taste will change. However, the other four Cheerios flavours will stay the same.
Unfortunately General Mills don't confirm that the gluten free versions will be made in a dedicated gluten free facility, instead quoting "Whenever we manufacture gluten-free products, we take specific steps to ensure that the process and equipment used does not provide any opportunity for gluten or gluten-containing ingredients to get into our products. General Mills has stringent programs and precautions in place to ensure the product meets gluten-free requirements." But the oats themselves are processed in a dedicated gluten free facility.
For more info: blog.generalmills.com/2015/02/new-gluten-free-choices-from-big-g.