I have been told I have an allergy to wheat. Does this mean I have to avoid all other grains and go on a gluten free diet, or just find food which is wheat free?

If someone has been told that they have only a wheat allergy, then there is no need to miss out on the other grains available. As long as they stick to food that is wheat free they should be okay.

However, if someone is told that they have a gluten allergy/coeliac disease then they must stay away from anything with gluten in it. Be careful here because some gluten free foods have wheat starch in them that has had the gluten removed. Always check the ingredients label.

Our glossary on the web site will help you to find out the appropriate grains to use, and what to steer clear of.