Is spelt suitable for wheat free diets?

Short answer = NO.

There are quite a few products and recipes cropping up containing spelt, yet being labelled "wheat free", spelt is actually an ancient strain of wheat and contains gluten.

Read what the Wikipedia page has to say about spelt.

Celiac societies do not endorse the use of spelt in wheat/gluten free diets... because it is wheat!

Therefore spelt is not suitable for people suffering from wheat allergy/intolerance or celiac disease.