Is soy sauce safe on a wheat free or gluten free diet?

There are three basic types of soy sauce available:

  • Tamari wheat free soy sauce (YES)
  • Tamari fermented wheat soy sauce (NO)
  • Regular fermented wheat soy sauce (NO)

Products that are not specifically manufactured as wheat/gluten free listing 'soy sauce' in the ingredients will most likely contain the regular fermented wheat version.

Wheat/gluten free products that contain soy sauce will often refer to 'Tamari soy sauce' in their ingredients list.

Use extreme caution when purchasing Tamari because it does come in two versions, for example, Kikkoman produce a Tamari made with wheat but they also produce a Tamari wheat free version.

For more information check out the food fact pages about soy sauce and Tamari soy sauce.

(updated Mar 1, 2018)