Tamari soy sauce

wheat-free.org food fact file - Tamari soy sauce

If you are following a wheat or gluten free diet, and you want to use soy sauce, it's essential that you source the correct type, as normal soy sauce is fermented with wheat.

Tamari is a wheat free soy sauce, however you must be careful to purchase the correct Tamari, as some still use wheat in the fermentation process. There are wheat free and wheat containing versions of Tamari, for example Kikkoman Tamari contains wheat, however San-J Tamari is wheat free.

When you purchase Tamari, make sure that the label says "wheat free", if it does not specify this then it almost certainly contains wheat and should be avoided.

Many people who are cooking for a wheat allergic or celiac guest may not automatically associate the fact that Tamari comes in two versions. Therefore if they are intending to use Tamari, in the belief that it is safe, it may be helpful to check that they have the wheat free version.

Usage:

Wheat free Tamari can be substituted in the same quantities as normal soy sauce.

Cooking:

Wheat free Tamari can be substituted anywhere that soy sauce is required.

Storing:

Tamari can be stored in the fridge, or kept in a cool, dark cupboard, refrigeration will keep it at its optimum quality. Check the "use by" date, which is generally quite long.

Nutritional information:

Typical values per 1tbsp of product
Calories - 10 kcal
Protein - 2g
Carbohydrate (total) - <1g
Carbohydrate (sugars) - 0g
Fat (total) - 0g
Fat (saturated) - 0g
Dietary fibre - 0g
Sodium - 940mg (low sodium versions are available)