Wheat free glossary[a] [b] [c] [d] [e] [f] [g] [h] [i] [j] [k] [l] [m] [n] [o] [p] [q] [r] [s] [t] [u] [v] [w] [x] [y] [z] [all]
The world of wheat free shopping, eating and cooking is a minefield peppered with wheat, hidden wheat and wheat by any other name. The items listed on this page highlight some of the good, the bad and the ugly.
Because this website is primarily wheat free there are items listed in the glossary that contain gluten, therefore please check carefully if you are suffering from coeliac disease as these will not be suitable for you.
And important to remember, whether you suffer from wheat allergy or intolerance, or coeliac disease, always check the ingredients listed on packets as manufacturers do change their ingredients, often on a whim. Obviously this glossary is not exhaustive, if you have anything that you would like to add please use our contact form, we'd be pleased to receive any suggestions.
|Pasta||Wheat. Use wheat free pasta, corn pasta or rice pasta are all available|
|Pepper, white/fine/ready ground||Contains wheat to stop it sticking|
|Peppercorns||Freshly ground peppercorns may be used in wheat free cooking|
|Pitta bread||Made with wheat flour|
|Play-doh||Made with wheat, and as children naturally like to put things in their mouths it should be avoided|
|Polenta||A coarsely ground, whole corn meal|
|Potato flour||Starch used in general baking mixed with other flours. Not used for baking on its own. Ideal thickener for sauces, gravies etc. Check it it pure|
- — Yes with caution
- — No