Wheat free glossary[a] [b] [c] [d] [e] [f] [g] [h] [i] [j] [k] [l] [m] [n] [o] [p] [q] [r] [s] [t] [u] [v] [w] [x] [y] [z] [all]
The world of wheat free shopping, eating and cooking is a minefield peppered with wheat, hidden wheat and wheat by any other name. The items listed on this page highlight some of the good, the bad and the ugly.
Because this website is primarily wheat free there are items listed in the glossary that contain gluten, therefore please check carefully if you are suffering from coeliac disease as these will not be suitable for you.
And important to remember, whether you suffer from wheat allergy or intolerance, or coeliac disease, always check the ingredients listed on packets as manufacturers do change their ingredients, often on a whim. Obviously this glossary is not exhaustive, if you have anything that you would like to add please use our contact form, we'd be pleased to receive any suggestions.
|Lager||Often made with barley, may contain wheat or may become contaminated with wheat during the brewing process. To be safe only choose beers that are specifically labelled and sold as gluten free|
|Lentils||Come either as dried or pre-cooked in tins|
|Liquorice||Contains wheat. Alternative spelling: licorice. Wheat free versions are available but they're not a perfect substitute|
- — Yes with caution
- — No