Wheat free glossary[a] [b] [c] [d] [e] [f] [g] [h] [i] [j] [k] [l] [m] [n] [o] [p] [q] [r] [s] [t] [u] [v] [w] [x] [y] [z] [all]
The world of wheat free shopping, eating and cooking is a minefield peppered with wheat, hidden wheat and wheat by any other name. The items listed on this page highlight some of the good, the bad and the ugly.
Because this website is primarily wheat free there are items listed in the glossary that contain gluten, therefore please check carefully if you are suffering from coeliac disease as these will not be suitable for you.
And important to remember, whether you suffer from wheat allergy or intolerance, or coeliac disease, always check the ingredients listed on packets as manufacturers do change their ingredients, often on a whim. Obviously this glossary is not exhaustive, if you have anything that you would like to add please use our contact form, we'd be pleased to receive any suggestions.
|Agar agar||Thickening agent made from seaweed. Dissolve in hot water, sets when cold. Vegetarian alternative to gelatine|
|Almond extract||Check that it is pure extract. 'Extract' is always better to use than 'essence'|
|Almonds, ground||Used to make delicious moist cakes as well as many other uses. Can also be used as a thickener for sauces|
|Amaranth||Purchase as grain or flour. Used in some cereals. Should be used in combination with other flours as it does not stick together well on its own|
|Arrowroot||Starch that is excellent for thickening purposes. Especially useful when a clear sauce is required as it becomes colourless on cooking... more info|
- — Yes with caution
- — No